§ 20-171.19. Prohibited acts by owners and operators.

(a) No person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle on a public street or highway or public
vehicular area when such operation is otherwise permitted by law, unless the person wears eye
protection and a safety helmet meeting United States Department of Transportation standards
for motorcycle helmets.

(al)  No person under 18 years of age shall operate an all-terrain vehicle off a public
street or highway or public vehicular area unless the person wears eye protection and a safety
helmet meeting United States Department of Transportation standards for motorcycle helmets.

(a2) Notwithstanding subsection (al) of this section, a person who is under 18 years of
age and employed by a supplier of retail electric service, while engaged in power line
inspection, may operate an all-terrain vehicle while wearing both of the following:

(1) Head protection equipped with a chin strap that conforms to the standards
applicable to suppliers of retail electric service adopted by the Occupational
Safety and Health Division of the North Carolina Department of Labor.

(2) Eye protection that conforms to the standards applicable to suppliers of retail
electric service adopted by the Occupational Safety and Health Division of
the North Carolina Department of Labor.

(b) No owner shall authorize an all-terrain vehicle to be operated contrary to this Part.

() No person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle while under the influence of alcohol,
any controlled substance, or a prescription or nonprescription drug that impairs vision or motor
coordination.

(d) No person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle in a careless or reckless manner so as
to endanger or cause injury or damage to any person or property.

(e) Except as otherwise permitted by law, no person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle
on any public street, road, or highway except for purposes of crossing that street, road, or
highway.

® Except as otherwise permitted by law, no person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle

at anytime on an interstate or limited-access highway.

(2) No person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle during the hours of darkness, from
one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise and at anytime when visibility is
reduced due to insufficient light or atmospheric conditions, without displaying a lighted
headlamp and taillamp, unless the use of lights is prohibited by other applicable laws.
(2005-282, s. 2; 2006-259, s. 10(a); 2011-68, s. 1; 2013-410, s. 4.2.)
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