Article 2A.

Multi-County Water Conservation and Infrastructure District.

§ 158-15.1. Multi-County Water Conservation and Infrastructure District.

(a) There is established the Multi-County Water Conservation and Infrastructure District, which is a public authority for the purpose of the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act.

(b) The member counties of the Multi-County Water Conservation and Infrastructure District are Bertie, Caswell, Forsyth, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Martin, Northampton, Person, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Vance, Warren, and Washington.

(c) The governing body of the Multi-County Water Conservation and Infrastructure District is the Multi-County Water Commission. One member of this Commission shall be appointed for a three-year term by the board of commissioners of each member county.

(d) All monies received by the State of North Carolina for sale of water under the Roanoke River Basin Compact, if enacted, shall be paid to the Multi-County Water Conservation and Infrastructure District.

(e) The District may accept for any of its purposes and functions any and all donations, grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials and services (conditional or otherwise) from any state or the United States or any subdivision or agency thereof, or interstate agency, or from any political subdivision of this State or any other state, or from any institution, person, firm or corporation, and may receive, utilize and dispose of the same. The nature, amount and condition, if any, attendant upon any donation or grant accepted pursuant to this subsection together with the identity of the donor or grantor, shall be detailed in the annual audit of the District.

(f) At times specified by the Multi-County Water Commission, net revenues after operating expenses of the District shall be paid to each of the fifteen member counties according to the following formula: (i) one-half pro-rata based on the population located within the Roanoke River basin area of each member county; and (ii) one-half pro-rata based on the land area located within the Roanoke River Basin area of each county.

(g) Member counties may use funds received under this section for public purposes relating to infrastructure development, economic development, and water conservation.

(h) The Commission may adopt such rules as may be needful for operation of its affairs, and shall employ and terminate personnel as if it were a county. (1995, c. 507, s. 26.12; 1996, 2nd Ex. Sess., c. 18, s. 24.22(a); 1997-443, s. 15.48(a).)