§ 116-5. Initial membership of Board of Governors.

- (a) Commencing July 1, 1972, and continuing for the terms hereinafter stated and until their successors are chosen, the Board of Governors shall consist of the following members:
 - (1) Three persons elected prior to January 1, 1972, by and from the membership of the Board of Trustees of East Carolina University and two persons elected prior to January 1, 1972, by and from the membership of the board of trustees of each of the following institutions: Appalachian State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, and Western Carolina University.
 - One person elected prior to January 1, 1972, by and from the membership of the board of trustees of each of the following institutions: Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina School of the Arts, redesignated effective August 1, 2008, as the "University of North Carolina School of the Arts," Pembroke State University, redesignated effective July 1, 1996, as the "University of North Carolina at Pembroke", and Winston-Salem State University.
 - (3) Sixteen persons elected prior to January 1, 1972, by and from the membership of the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina.
 - (4) Two persons elected prior to January 1, 1972, by the Board of Higher Education from its eight members-at-large. These shall be nonvoting members whose terms shall expire on June 30, 1973.
- (b) Of the 16 persons elected by the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina, four shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1973, four shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1975, four shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1977, and four shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1979. On January 1, 1972, or as soon as practicable thereafter, those 16 persons shall by lot or other means acceptable to them determine which of them shall be assigned the terms ending in 1973, 1975, 1977, and 1979 respectively. Of the 11 persons elected by the boards of trustees of the institutions listed in G.S. 116-5(a)(1), three shall serve a term ending in 1973, three shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1975, three shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1977, and two shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1979. On January 1, 1972, or as soon as practicable thereafter, those 11 persons shall by lot or other means acceptable to them determine which of them shall be assigned the terms ending in 1973, 1975, 1977, and 1979 respectively. Of the five persons elected by the boards of trustees of the institutions listed in G.S. 116-5(a)(2), the member elected from the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina School of the Arts shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1973, and of the remaining members, one shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1975, one shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1977, and two shall serve a term ending on June 30, 1979. On January 1, 1972, or as soon as practicable thereafter, those four persons, excluding the member from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, shall by lot or other means acceptable to them determine which of them shall be assigned the terms ending in 1975, 1977, and 1979 respectively.
- (c) Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the Board of Governors between July 1, 1972, and June 30, 1973, shall be filled by appointment of the Governor, and the person appointed shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term.
- (d) The Governor shall serve ex officio as a member and as chairman of the Board of Governors until December 31, 1972. (1971, c. 1244, s. 1; 1995 (Reg. Sess., 1996), c. 603, s. 3; 2008-192, ss. 3, 12.)

G.S. 116-5