§ 114-51. Membership; terms; quorum.

(a) The Council shall consist of 18 members appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the Governor. The Governor shall designate a chair from among the members of the Council. Membership shall be as follows:

- (1) Ten members from government agencies with responsibility for programs and services related to financial education, financial services, and related economic stability efforts. At least one representative shall come from each of the following government agencies:
 - a. Community College System.
 - b. Department of Commerce.
 - c. Department of Justice.
 - d. Department of Labor.
 - e. Department of Public Instruction.
 - f. Department of the Secretary of State.
 - g. Department of State Treasurer.
 - h. Office of the Commissioner of Banks.
 - i. The University of North Carolina.
- (2) Two public members with experience in the financial services industry.
- (3) Two public members who represent employers with experience in providing financial education to their employees.
- (4) Four public members with experience in consumer advocacy or nonprofit financial education.

(b) Members of the Council shall be appointed for terms of three years and shall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified.

(c) A majority of the Council's members shall constitute a quorum. (2009-265, s. 1.)