## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

S SENATE BILL 878

## SENATE BILL 8/8 State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 6/7/16

Short Title: Jonesville/Boonville/East Bend/Even-Yr Elec'n. (Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

May 18, 2016

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN THE TOWNS OF JONESVILLE, BOONVILLE, AND EAST BEND ARE HELD IN EVEN-NUMBERED YEARS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

 **SECTION 1.** Article IV of the Charter of the Town of Jonesville, being Chapter 16 of the 2001 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"ARTICLE IV. ELECTIONS.

"Section 4.1. **Conduct of Town Elections.** Regular Beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections shall be held in each odd-numbered even-numbered year in accordance with the uniform municipal election laws of the State. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan basis and the results determined using the nonpartisan plurality method as provided in G.S. 163-292.

"Section 4.2. **Election of Town Council.** In 2001, five members of the Council shall be elected. The two persons receiving the highest numbers of votes are elected for four year terms, and the three persons receiving the next highest numbers of votes are elected to two year terms. The Council shall consist of five members. The two Council members whose terms expire in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018, and the three Council members whose terms expire in 2019 shall continue to serve until 2020. In 2003–2020, and quadrennially thereafter, three Council members are shall be elected to four-year terms. In 2005–2018, and quadrennially thereafter, two Council members are shall be elected to four-year terms.

"Section 4.3. **Election of Mayor.** A Mayor shall be elected in 2001 and quadrennially thereafter for a four-year term.to serve a term of four years. The Mayor whose term expires in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2018, and quadrennially thereafter, the Mayor shall be elected to a four-year term."

**SECTION 2.** Section 4 of the Charter of the Town of Boonville, being Chapter 44 of the Private Laws of 1895, as amended by Chapter 1143 of the 1981 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 4. (a) At the regular municipal election Beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections shall be held in each even-numbered year in the Town of Booneville in 1983, there shall be elected aBoonville. The board of town commissioners consisting shall consist of five members. The three persons receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected to four-year terms. The two persons receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected to two-year terms. The two commissioners whose terms expire in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018, and the three commissioners whose terms expire in 2019 shall continue to serve until 2020. In 1985–2018, and quadrennially thereafter, two commissioners shall be elected for four-year terms. In 1987–2020, and quadrennially thereafter, three commissioners shall be elected for four-year terms.



- (b) At Beginning in 2018, at the regular municipal election in 1983, election, a mayor shall be elected for a two-year term. In 1985 four-year term. The Mayor whose term expires in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2018, and quadrennially thereafter, a mayor shall be elected for a four-year term.
- (c) Elections in the Town of Boonville shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 163 of the General Statutes, and the results determined by the plurality method as provided in G.S. 163-292."
- **SECTION 3.** Section 4 of the Charter of the Town of East Bend, being Chapter 144 of the Private Laws of 1887, as amended by Chapter 611 of the 1955 Session Laws and by Chapter 104 of the 1985 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:
- "Sec. 4. (a) In the 1985 Beginning in 2018, at the municipal election and biennially thereafter, election, a mayor shall be elected for a two-year term. The Mayor whose term expires in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2018, and biennially thereafter, a mayor shall be elected for a two-year term.
- (b) In the 1985 municipal election, the two persons receiving the highest numbers of votes shall be elected to four year terms on the board of commissioners. The three persons receiving the next highest numbers of votes shall be elected to two-year terms on the board of commissioners.
- (c) In 1987 and biennially thereafter, the two persons receiving the highest numbers of votes shall be elected to four-year terms on the town board of commissioners, and the person receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected to a two year term on the board of commissioners. The town board of commissioners shall consist of five members. The three board members whose terms expire in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018, and the two board members whose terms expire in 2019 shall continue to serve until 2020. In 2018, and quadrennially thereafter, three board members shall be elected to four-year terms. In 2020, and quadrennially thereafter, two board members shall be elected to four-year terms.
- (d) Elections in the Town of East Bend shall be governed by Chapter 163 of the General Statutes. Elections shall be conducted and the results shall be determined using the nonpartisan plurality method set out in Section 163-292 of the General Statutes."

**SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law.