S SENATE RESOLUTION 726

Sponsors: Senator Pate (Primary Sponsor).

Referred to: Rules and Operations of the Senate.

May 30, 2013

A SENATE RESOLUTION HONORING EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2013 COLLEGEINSIDERS.COM POSTSEASON TOURNAMENT.

Whereas, on April 2, 2013, East Carolina University men's basketball team captured the 2013 CollegeInsiders.com Postseason Tournament (CIT) Championship; and

Whereas, with only seconds left in the game, East Carolina scored a three-point goal to defeat Webber State University by a score of 77-74; and

Whereas, this victory over the Wildcats gave the Pirates their first postseason tournament championship; and

Whereas, the Pirates ended the season with a record of 23-12, tying the university's record for the most wins in a season as a Division I team; and

Whereas, during the university's 80-year basketball history, the men's basketball team has had only seven 18-win seasons, including two of the last three seasons with 18 or more wins; and

Whereas, the Pirates finished conference play in 2013 with a record of 9-7, posting the team's first winning record during its 12-year membership in Conference USA; and

Whereas, Head Coach Jeff Lebo took over the team in 2010 and became the first coach in the university's history to win 50 games in his first three seasons; and

Whereas, Coach Lebo has helped the Pirates win 56 games in three seasons, earning the men's basketball program its most successful three-year run in the university's history; and

Whereas, several individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the 2012-2013 season, including senior Maurice Kemp, who was named the CIT Most Valuable Player and the first ECU player to be named First-Team All-Conference USA; and

Whereas, senior Miguel Paul earned CIT All-Tournament team honors, along with junior Robert Sampson, and was also named Second-Team All-Conference USA for the second straight season, becoming the first Pirate to earn All-Conference USA honors in multiple seasons; and

Whereas, junior Akeem Richmond scored the winning goal during the CIT championship game and led Conference USA in three-point field goals per game; and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of the ECU men's basketball program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate:

1 2

 SECTION 1. The Senate expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the men's basketball team at East Carolina University for winning the 2013 CollegeInsiders.com Postseason Tournament Championship and recognizes the achievements of team members Ty Armstrong, Shamarr Bowden, Francis Edosomwan,



Corvonn Gaines, Marshall Guilmette, Maurice Kemp, Yasin Kolo, Miguel Paul, Akeem
Richmond, Peyton Robbins, Paris Roberts-Campbell, Robert Sampson, Erin Straughn, Petar
Torlak, Prince Williams, and Michael Zangari; Head Coach Jeff Lebo; Assistant Coaches Tim
Craft, Michael Perry, and Ken Potosnak; and Director of Basketball Operations Kyle Robinson.
SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution
to Chancellor Steve Ballard, Athletics Director Jeff Compher, and Head Coach Jeff Lebo.
SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

Page 2 S726 [Edition 1]