SENATE RESOLUTION DRSR15162-LG-128A (05/17)

D

 $\mathbf{S}$ 

Sponsors:	Senators Brunstetter and Pate (Primary Sponsors).
Referred to:	

A SENATE RESOLUTION EXPRESSING GRATITUDE TO THE MEMBERS OF THE MILITARY FOR THEIR SERVICE AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF THOSE KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY.

Whereas, Memorial Day was first observed as Decoration Day on May 30, 1868, as an occasion to decorate the graves of Civil War soldiers; and

Whereas, after World War I, Decoration Day was expanded to honor service members killed in all of our nation's wars and, after World War II, Decoration Day became known as Memorial Day; and

Whereas, in 1971, Congress established Memorial Day as a federal holiday to be observed on the last Monday of May; and

Whereas, as we observe Memorial Day in 2011, it is important to reflect upon the contributions and sacrifices the men and women of our Armed Forces have made in upholding the principles of democracy and liberty while in service to our nation; and

Whereas, it is fitting to honor and commend the North Carolinians, as well as the men and women that served with military units based in North Carolina, who were killed in the line of duty; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate:

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14 15

16 17

18

19

20

21

2223

24

25

26

27

28 29

30

31

32

35

36

37

**SECTION 1.** The Senate expresses its profound gratitude and appreciation to all the men and women of the United States Armed Forces for their selfless service.

**SECTION 2.** The Senate wishes to honor the memory of all of the members of the military from North Carolina who lost their lives while serving during Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom since May 24, 2010, as follows:

Army Pfc. Christopher R. Barton, Concord, North Carolina

Army Master Sgt. Jamal H. Bowers, Raleigh, North Carolina

Army Spc. Jacob C. Carroll, Clemmons, North Carolina

Marine Lance Cpl. Ross S. Carver, Rocky Point, North Carolina

Army Staff Sgt. Adam L. Dickmyer, Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Army Sgt. Donald R. Edgerton, Murphy, North Carolina

Army Spc. Matthew E. George, Grantsboro, North Carolina

Army Pfc. James F. McClamrock, Huntersville, North Carolina

Army Sgt. Willie A. McLawhorn, Jr., Conway, North Carolina

Army Pfc. Amy R. Sinkler, Chadbourn, North Carolina

Army Chief Warrant Officer 2 Terry L. Varnadore II, Hendersonville, North Carolina

Army Pfc. Christian M. Warriner, Mills River, North Carolina.

**SECTION 3.** The Senate wishes to honor the memory of all the veterans of past wars who have died since the last Memorial Day.



1	<b>SECTION 4.</b> The Senate wishes to honor the memory of the following members of
2	the North Carolina National Guard who died since May 24, 2010:
3	Staff Sgt. Christopher Edge
4	Cpt. Kerry Hathcock
5	Sgt. Karen Herrera
6	1 <sup>st</sup> Lt. Kevin Marks
7	Pfc. Mark Rakes
8	Spc. John Pace
9	Staff Sgt. Aldridge Ferrell
10	Spc. Kenneth Carl
11	Sgt. Curtis Yannone
12	<b>SECTION 5.</b> The Senate extends its deepest sympathy to the families of the
13	service members named above who made the ultimate sacrifice to help secure the freedom of
14	the United States of America. The people of the State of North Carolina owe a debt to these
15	brave service members and solemnly pledge that they shall never be forgotten.
16	<b>SECTION 6.</b> This resolution is effective upon adoption.

Page 2 S779 [Filed]