GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

HOUSE BILL 1050 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO EXERCISE THE POWER OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY UNDER SECTION 1 OF ARTICLE VII OF THE NORTH CAROLINA CONSTITUTION TO FIX THE BOUNDARIES OF CITIES AND GIVE SUCH POWERS TO CITIES AS IT DEEMS ADVISABLE BY REPEALING SPECIFIED INVOLUNTARY ANNEXATION ORDINANCES OF THE TOWN OF ELIZABETHTOWN RELATING TO THE INDUSTRIAL PARK AREA, AND BY PROHIBITING MUNICIPAL INITIATION OF ANY PROCEDURE TO INVOLUNTARILY ANNEX THOSE AREAS FOR TWELVE YEARS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Repeal annexation ordinances. – All annexation ordinances described in Section 3 of this act are repealed as of the effective date of this act.

SECTION 2. Twelve-year prohibition on involuntary annexation. – All areas affected by the annexation ordinances described in Section 3 of this act shall not be subject to any annexation proceeding, other than a voluntary annexation under Part 1 or Part 4 of Article 4A of Chapter 160A of the General Statutes, or local act of the General Assembly, for a period of 12 years from and after the effective date of this act. After the 12-year period, the area may be subject to annexation in accordance with State law effective at that time.

SECTION 3. Repealed involuntary annexation ordinances. –

- (1) Elizabethtown Annexation Ordinance 2011-04 (Area A) adopted June 6, 2011.
- (2) Elizabethtown Annexation Ordinance 2011-05 (Area B) adopted June 6, 2011.
- (3) Elizabethtown Annexation Ordinance 2011-06 (Area C) adopted June 6, 2011.
- (4) Elizabethtown Annexation Ordinance 2011-07 (Area D) adopted June 6, 2011.

SECTION 4. Severability. – If any provision of this act or its application is held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this act that can be given effect without the invalid provisions or application, and to this end the provisions of this act are severable.

SECTION 5. This act is effective from and after June 29, 2012.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of June, 2012.

s/ Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives

