GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S SENATE BILL 1357*

Short Title:	Expand Cabarrus County Tourism Authority.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Hartsell.	
Referred to:	State and Local Government.	

May 25, 2010

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO EXPAND THE CABARRUS COUNTY TOURISM AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 2(a) of Chapter 658 of the 1989 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Establishment and Membership. When the Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners adopts a resolution levying a room occupancy tax pursuant to this act, it shall establish and create the The Cabarrus County Tourism Authority is composed of nine 12 members, with seats on the Authority numbered one through nine, 12, all of whom shall be appointed by the board, Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners, selected as follows:
 - (1) Seats 1, 4, and 7 shall be selected by the board at large and shall include, but not be limited to, at least one member of the board or the Cabarrus County Manager; Manager.
 - (2) Seats 2, 5, and 8 shall be appointed by the board from a list of at least three persons submitted by the Concord-Cabarrus Chamber of Commerce; Cabarrus County Tourism Authority. and
 - (3) Seats 3, 6, and 9 shall be appointed by the board from a list of at least three persons submitted to the board by the Kannapolis Chamber of Commerce. Cabarrus Regional Chamber of Commerce.
 - (4) Seats 10, 11, and 12 shall be appointed by the board from a list of persons submitted to the board by the Cabarrus County Tourism Authority."

SECTION 2. Section 2(b) of Chapter 658 of the 1989 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

- "(b) Terms of Office. Except as otherwise provided in the schedule set forth below, the term of office of each member of the Authority shall be three years. The terms shall be staggered so that after the initial members of the Authority are appointed, three members are appointed each year, implemented as follows:
 - (1) Seats 1, 2, and 3 shall be appointed initially for one year, and thereafter for three years; years.
 - (2) Seats 4, 5, and 6 shall be appointed initially for two years, and thereafter for three years; and years.
 - (3) Seats 7, 8, and 9 shall be appointed initially for three years, and thereafter for three years.
 - (4) Seat 10 shall be appointed initially for one year, and thereafter for three years.
 - (5) Seat 11 shall be appointed initially for two years, and thereafter for three years.



 full terms shall submit a recommendation to the Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners."

SECTION 4. This act is effective when it becomes law.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7