## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

1

S SENATE BILL 570

Short Title: Watha Satellite Annexations. (Local)

Sponsors: Senator Soles.

Referred to: Finance.

## March 7, 2007

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT CONCERNING SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS BY THE TOWN OF WATHA.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

8 ...

5

6 7

9

10

11

12

13 14

15 16

17

18 19

20

21

2223

24

2526

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.