GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SESSION LAW 2007-50 SENATE BILL 386

AN ACT TO CONFIRM THAT WARREN COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBERS ARE TO BE ELECTED FROM TOWNSHIPS AS PROVIDED IN CHAPTER 335 OF THE PUBLIC-LOCAL LAWS OF 1937, AND TO PROVIDE THAT NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS OF THAT BOARD TAKE OFFICE 30 DAYS AFTER CERTIFICATION OF THE ELECTION RESULTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. The five members of the Warren County Board of Education shall be elected from townships as provided in Section 1 of Chapter 335, Public-Local Laws of 1937. The five districts for election of board members shall continue to be as follows:

(1) District One: Warrenton Township.

(2) District Two: River, Roanoke, and Six Pound Townships.

(3) District Three: Nutbush, Smith Creek, and Hawtree Townships.

(4) District Four: Sandy Creek, Shocco, and Fork Townships.

(5) District Five: Fishing Creek and Judkins Townships.

SECTION 2. To be eligible for election to the board from a district, a candidate must reside in the district, and to be eligible to serve as a member of the board representing a district, a person must reside in the district. All eligible voters of the county shall vote on the members from all five districts, however.

SECTION 3. If a vacancy occurs on the board, the remaining members of the board shall appoint a person to replace the departing member. The person appointed as the replacement must reside in the district which was served by the departing member.

SECTION 4. Notwithstanding G.S. 115C-37(d), effective beginning with those members elected in 2012, the terms of newly elected members of the board of education begin 30 days after the certification of the results of the election. The term of office of members elected in 2008 expires at that time.

SECTION 5. Except as provided in this act, elections for the Warren County Board of Education shall be conducted according to general law.

SECTION 6. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 17th day of May, 2007.

- s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
- s/ Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives