GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 279

Sponsors: Senators Rand; Albertson, Apodaca, Atwater, Berger of Franklin, Bingham, Blake, Brock, Brown, Brunstetter, Clodfelter, Dalton, East, Foriest, Forrester, Garrou, Goodall, Goss, Graham, Hagan, Hartsell, Hunt, Jones, Kinnaird, Nesbitt, Preston, Purcell, Queen, Snow, Soles, Stevens, Swindell, Tillman, and Weinstein.

Referred to: Calendar 2/22/07.

February 21, 2007

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE WOMEN'S SOCCER TEAM AT THE
 UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL ON BECOMING
 THE 2006 NCAA NATIONAL WOMEN'S SOCCER CHAMPIONS.

Whereas, the women's soccer program at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill warrants recognition and a commendation for its outstanding record of excellence; and

Whereas, since 1979, the women's soccer program has achieved an overall
record of 629-28-18, becoming the most successful women's collegiate soccer program
in history; and

Whereas, on December 2, 2006, the women's soccer team won the NCAA
National Championship by defeating the University of Notre Dame by a score of 2-1,
giving the women's soccer program its 18th national championship title; and

Whereas, the women's soccer team finished the 2006 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) season as the regular season champions with a record of 10-0 and won the ACC tournament for the 17th time in its 19-year history; and

Whereas, the women's soccer team completed the 2006 season with an overall record of 27-1-0, which included a 27-game winning streak, and finished the year ranked number one in all four major polls; and

Whereas, nine individuals were named to the Soccer All-America Team for 20 2006 and seven individuals were called up by the US Women's National team in 21 preparation for the 2007 Four Nation's Tournament in Guangzhou, China; and

Whereas, over the span of 17 years, UNC has had 13 players named National Player of the Year, including April Heinrichs in 1984 and 1986, Kristine Lilly in 1990 and 1991, Mia Hamm in 1992 and 1993, and Yael Averbuch and Heather O'Reilly, both

of whom were named National Player of the Year by competing polls in 2006; and

General Assembly of North Carolina

1 Whereas, Heather O'Reilly was a member of the 2004 US Olympic Gold 2 Medal Team in Athens, Greece, and was the first player from the ACC to be awarded 3 the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Adidas Scholar Athlete 4 of the Year honor: and 5 Whereas, other UNC soccer players with national and international exposure 6 include 1996 Olympic Gold Medal Team members: Mia Hamm, Kristine Lilly, Cindy 7 Parlow, Carla Overbeck, Tiffany Roberts, Tracy Noonan, Tisha Venturini, and Staci 8 Wilson; and 9 Whereas, Anson Dorrance has served as the coach of the UNC women's 10 soccer team since its inception and during his 28 years as coach has received numerous 11 honors and awards for his contributions to the team and women's soccer; and 12 Whereas, in 2006, Coach Dorrance was named the National Soccer Coach of 13 the Year for the fifth time and the ACC Coach of the Year; and 14 Whereas, Coach Dorrance was inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall 15 of Fame and was the recipient of the NSCAA's Walt Chyzowych Award for Lifetime Coaching Achievement: and 16 Whereas, Coach Dorrance also made contributions to women's soccer as the 17 18 head coach of the US Women's Soccer Team in 1986; and 19 Whereas, assistant coach Chris Ducar also made valuable contributions 20 during the 2006 season and was named the National Assistant Coach of the Year; and 21 Whereas, members of the women's soccer team should also be commended 22 for being active participants in the community and serving as role models for young 23 women soccer players across the State and nation; and 24 Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of 25 the women's soccer program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North 26 Carolina and deserve recognition; Now, therefore, 27 Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring: 28 The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and SECTION 1. 29 admiration of the people of North Carolina to the women's soccer team at the University 30 of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for winning the 2006 NCAA National Soccer 31 Championship and recognizes the achievements of team members: Yael Averbuch, Eva 32 Baucom, Caroline Boneparth, Katie Brooks, Whitney Engen, Kristi Eveland, Kelly 33 Esposito, Betsy Frederick, Robyn Gayle, Jaime Gilbert, Elizabeth Guess, Ariel Harris, 34 Ashlyn Harris, Melissa Hayes, Ali Hawkins, Tobin Heath, Elizabeth Lancaster, Jessica 35 Maxwell, Ashley Moore, Mandy Moraca, Casey Nogueira, Heather O'Reilly, Jennifer 36 Perkins, Anna Rodenbough, Sterling Smith, Nikki Washington, and Julie Yates; head 37 coach, Anson Dorrance; assistant coaches, Chris Ducar and Bill Palladino; team 38 manager Tom Sander; and other staff members. 39 SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the University of North 40 Carolina at Chapel Hill women's soccer team, a North Carolina institution. 41 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this 42 resolution to Athletic Director Dick Baddour and to head coach Anson Dorrance. 43

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.