GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H HOUSE DRH70148-LY-121A* (2/27)

Short Title:	Tax Certification - Jones County.	(Local)

Sponsors: Representative McElraft.

Referred to:

7

8

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALLOW JONES COUNTY TO REQUIRE THE REGISTER OF DEEDS
NOT TO ACCEPT ANY DEED TRANSFERRING REAL PROPERTY FOR
REGISTRATION UNLESS THE COUNTY TAX COLLECTOR HAS CERTIFIED
THAT NO TAXES WITH WHICH THE COLLECTOR IS CHARGED ARE A
LIEN ON THE PROPERTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

- 9 "(b) Applicability. This section applies only to Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson,
- 11 Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville,
- Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston,
- 13 Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash,
- Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson,
- 15 Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance,
- Warren, Washington, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."
- 17 **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.