GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H HOUSE BILL 163

Short Title: Divide District Court District 19B. (Programme 1988)	ublic)	
---	--------	--

Sponsors: Representatives Boylan; and Hurley.

Referred to: Appropriations.

4

5

6

7 8

9 10

February 13, 2007

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO DIVIDE DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19B INTO DISTRICTS 19B
AND 19D.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	6	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin

General	l Assembly	v of North	Carolina
Other a	i wootiiini	y OI INOI UI	Caronna

Session 2007

1			Jones
2			Onslow
3	5	8	New Hanover
4			Pender
5	6A	3	Halifax
6	6B	3 3	Northampton
7			Bertie
8			Hertford
9	7	7	Nash
10			Edgecombe
11			Wilson
12	8	6	Wayne
13			Greene
14			Lenoir
15	9	4	Granville
16			(part of Vance
17			see subsection (b))
18			Franklin
19	9A	2	Person
20	,		Caswell
21	9B	2	Warren
22			(part of Vance
23			see subsection (b))
24	10	16	Wake
25	11	9	Harnett
26			Johnston
27			Lee
28	12	9	Cumberland
29	13	6	Bladen
30			Brunswick
31			Columbus
32	14	7	Durham
33	15A	4	Alamance
34	15B	5	Orange
35			Chatham
36	16A	3	Scotland
37			Hoke
38	16B	5	Robeson
39	17A	5 3	Rockingham
40	17B	4	Stokes
41			Surry
42	18	13	Guilford
43	19A	4	Cabarrus
44	19B	7 <u>5</u>	Montgomery
		-	•

General	l Assembly	v of North	Carolina
Other a	i wootiiini	y OI INOI UI	Caronna

Session 2007

1			Moore
2			Randolph
3	19C	5	Rowan
	<u>19D</u>	5 <u>3</u> 4	<u>Moore</u>
4 5	20A	$\overline{4}$	Stanly
6			Anson
7			Richmond
8	20B	1	(part of Union
9			see subsection (b))
10	20C	2	(part of Union
11			see subsection (b))
12	21	9	Forsyth
13	22	9	Alexander
14			Davidson
15			Davie
16			Iredell
17	23	4	Alleghany
18			Ashe
19			Wilkes
20			Yadkin
21	24	4	Avery
22			Madison
23			Mitchell
24			Watauga
25			Yancey
26	25	9	Burke
27			Caldwell
28			Catawba
29	26	18	Mecklenburg
30	27A	7	Gaston
31	27B	5	Cleveland
32			Lincoln
33	28	7	Buncombe
34	29A	3	McDowell
35			Rutherford
36	29B	4	Henderson
37			Polk
38			Transylvania
39	30	6	Cherokee
40			Clay
41			Graham
42			Haywood
43			Jackson
44			Macon

Swain."

SECTION 2.(a) The five district court judgeships estab

SECTION 2.(a) The five district court judgeships established for District Court District 19B by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the five district court judges currently serving District Court District 19B who reside in Montgomery and Randolph Counties. The terms of two of those judges expire December 31, 2008. Those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2008 election. The terms of three of those judges expire December 31, 2010. Those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2010 election.

SECTION 2.(b) Two of the district court judgeships established for District Court District 19D by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges currently serving District Court District 19B who reside in Moore County. The term of one of those judges expires December 31, 2008. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election. The term of the other judge expires December 31, 2010. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2010 election.

SECTION 2.(c) The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District Court District 19D authorized by Section 1 of this act. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 general election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of two hundred thirty-three thousand two hundred thirteen dollars (\$233,213) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of four hundred twenty-six thousand four hundred seventy-seven dollars (\$426,477) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 1, 2008.