GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H HOUSE DRH60023-LL-11 (12/19)

Short Title: Divide District Court District 19B.	(Public))
--	----------	---

Sponsors: Representative Boylan.

Referred to:

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO DIVIDE DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19B INTO DISTRICTS 19B AND 19D.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

10			
11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	6	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret

	General Assembly of I	Session 2007	
1 2 3	4	8	Sampson Duplin Jones
4 5 6	5	8	Onslow New Hanover Pender
7 8 9	6A 6B	3 3	Halifax Northampton Bertie
10 11 12	7	7	Hertford Nash Edgecombe
13 14 15	8	6	Wilson Wayne Greene
16 17 18	9	4	Lenoir Granville (part of Vance
19 20	0.4	2	see subsection (b)) Franklin
21 22 23	9A 9B	2 2	Person Caswell Warren
242526	10	16	(part of Vance see subsection (b)) Wake
27 28 29	11	9	Harnett Johnston Lee
30 31 32	12 13	9 6	Cumberland Bladen Brunswick
33 34 35 36	14 15A 15B	7 4 5	Columbus Durham Alamance Orange
37 38 39	16A	3	Chatham Scotland Hoke
40 41 42	16B 17A 17B	5 3 4	Robeson Rockingham Stokes
43 44	18	13	Surry Guilford

Page 2 H163 [Filed]

4	Cabarrus
	Cavarrus
7 <u>5</u>	Montgomery
-	Moore 3
	Randolph
5	Rowan
3	<u>Moore</u>
$\frac{\overline{4}}{4}$	Stanly
	Anson
	Richmond
1	(part of Union
	see subsection (b))
2	(part of Union
	see subsection (b))
9	Forsyth
	Alexander
,	Davidson
	Davie
	Iredell
4	Alleghany
·	Ashe
	Wilkes
	Yadkin
4	Avery
·	Madison
	Mitchell
	Watauga
	Yancey
9	Burke
,	Caldwell
	Catawba
18	Mecklenburg
	Gaston
	Cleveland
3	Lincoln
7	Buncombe
	McDowell
3	Rutherford
4	Henderson
7	Polk
	Tork Transylvania
6	Cherokee
U	Clay
	Graham
	Haywood
	5 3 4 1 2 9 9 18 7 5 7 3 4

H163 [Filed] Page 3

Jackson
Macon
Swain."

SECTION 2.(a) The five district court judgeships established for District Court District 19B by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the five district court judges currently serving District Court District 19B who reside in Montgomery and Randolph Counties. The terms of two of those judges expire December 31, 2008. Those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2008 election. The terms of three of those judges expire December 31, 2010. Those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2010 election.

SECTION 2.(b) Two of the district court judgeships established for District Court District 19D by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges currently serving District Court District 19B who reside in Moore County. The term of one of those judges expires December 31, 2008. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election. The term of the other judge expires December 31, 2010. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2010 election.

SECTION 2.(c) The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District Court District 19D authorized by Section 1 of this act. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 general election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of two hundred thirty-three thousand two hundred thirteen dollars (\$233,213) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of four hundred twenty-six thousand four hundred seventy-seven dollars (\$426,477) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 1, 2008.

Page 4 H163 [Filed]