## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

D

S SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION DRSJR55209-LG-254 (4/8)

Sponsors: Senator Rand.

Referred to:

1 2

A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM FOR AN OUTSTANDING SEASON CULMINATING IN THE 2005 NCAA DIVISION I CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, the State of North Carolina is home to many talented people and the place of many firsts and achievements, including the first English settlement in the United States, man's first heavier-than-air powered flight, the first state to vote for independence from Great Britain, the first gold nugget discovered in the United States, the first sit-in to spark the civil rights movement, and a sky that is a particularly beautiful shade of blue; and

Whereas, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is also home to many firsts and achievements, including being established as the first public university in the nation, being rated one of the best public universities in the country, and being acknowledged nationwide for excellence in athletics as well as academics; and

Whereas, the men's basketball program in particular has become one of the most renowned programs in the nation, boasting such talented student-athletes as the 40 players whose jerseys hang in the rafters of the Dean E. Smith Center; and

Whereas, those players include seven former players whose jerseys are retired because they were consensus National Players of the Year – Jack Cobb, George Glamack, Lennie Rosenbluth, Phil Ford, James Worthy, Michael Jordan, and Antwan Jamison – and 33 other honored jerseys which belong to players who were the most valuable players, the most valuable player of an NCAA championship team, ACC Player of the Year, members of a gold-medal-winning Olympic squad, or first- or second-team All-Americas on a generally recognized team; and

Whereas, on April 4, 2005, the University of North Carolina men's basketball team won the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship by defeating the University of Illinois by a score of 75-70; and

3 4

5

6

10

11

1

2

7 8 9

21 22 23

24 25 26

> 28 29 30

27

32 33 34

31

35 36 37

38 39

40 41

42 43

Whereas, the 2005 championship marks the fourth Division I NCAA championship title and fifth overall championship title for the men's basketball program at UNC-CH; and

Whereas, the 2005 championship continues the tradition of excellence which began in 1924, when under Coach Norman ("Bo") Shepard, the Tar Heels had an undefeated season and were declared national champions by the Helms Foundation; and which was followed by NCAA Division I championships in 1957 under Coach Frank McGuire, and in 1982 and 1993 under Coach Dean Smith; and

Whereas, this tradition of excellence is further reflected in the Tar Heels' team performance records – for example, 16 Final Four appearances, the most in NCAA history (and more than any other school within a 14-mile radius of Chapel Hill); 1,860 overall wins, second in NCAA history; 24 Atlantic Coast Conference regular-season championships, the most in league history; 15 ACC Tournament titles, tied for the most titles in ACC history; 525 ACC victories, more than any other school in the conference; 88 NCAA tournament wins, second in tournament history; 21 Sweet 16 appearances, second-most in NCAA history; and in numerous individual performance records; and

Whereas, the Tar Heels' tradition of success is further exemplified by the many banners hanging in the Dean E. Smith Center reflecting past accomplishments; by the many honors, awards, and other recognitions received; and by the loyalty and support of countless Tar Heel fans in our State and across the world; and

Whereas, Carolina has graduated more than 95 percent of men's basketball lettermen over the past 40-plus years and had the highest academic index of the 65 teams in the 2005 NCAA Tournament; and

Whereas, the 2005 championship is the first NCAA title for Roy Williams, an Asheville, North Carolina, native and a UNC-Chapel Hill alumnus, who is in just his second year as head coach of the Tar Heels; and

Whereas, Roy Williams served as an assistant coach at UNC-CH under the legendary Dean Smith and played freshman basketball under Coach Bill Guthridge and, in his 17 years as a college basketball head coach, has led his teams to 16 tournament appearances, five Final Fours, and three NCAA title games; and

Whereas, Roy Williams, with a career record of 470-116 as a head coach, has the best winning percentage of any active coach in men's college basketball with at least 10 years' experience and the fifth-best in history; and

Whereas, Roy Williams has earned National Coach of the Year honors four times and in 2003 received the John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching Award; and

Whereas, under Roy Williams' leadership, the members of the men's basketball team are positive role models who have achieved great success both on and off the court; and

Whereas, UNC-CH seniors Jawad Williams, Jackie Manuel, Melvin Scott, Charlie Everett, and C.J. Hooker are ending their four years at UNC-CH with the 2005 championship; and

Whereas, junior Sean May, who scored 26 points and grabbed 10 rebounds in the final game, was named Most Outstanding Player of the tournament; and

Page 2 S1170 [Filed] 1 2

Whereas, Sean May was joined by juniors Raymond Felton and Rashad McCants on the All-Tournament Team; and

Whereas, freshman Marvin Williams was named the Associated Press Rookie of the Year in the ACC; and

Whereas, the entire men's basketball team deserves congratulations and appreciation for an outstanding season and for their heart and their hustle in winning the 2005 NCAA championship; and

Whereas, the success of this team reflects a tradition of basketball excellence in our State that is valued by so many North Carolinians and is deserving of recognition and appreciation for bringing great honor and distinction to our State; Now, therefore, Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly recognizes and appreciates the outstanding achievements of the men's basketball program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the men's basketball team at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship.

**SECTION 2.** The General Assembly recognizes the achievements of the 2005 team members: Student-athletes Charlie Everett, Raymond Felton, Brooks Foster, Damion Grant, Jesse Holley, C.J. Hooker, Jackie Manuel, Sean May, Rashad McCants, Wes Miller, David Noel, Byron Sanders, Melvin Scott, Reyshawn Terry, Quentin Thomas, Jawad Williams, and Marvin Williams; coaches and staff Roy Williams, Joe Holladay, Steve Robinson, C.B. McGrath, Jerod Haase, Jonas Sahratian, Eric Hoots, Marc Davis, and Wayne Walden; and student managers David Hoots, Russ Lauten, Preston Puckett, Bradley Vanhoy, Zane Hendrix, and Kathryn Howlett.

**SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall send certified copies of this resolution to Roy Williams; the team members, coaches, staff and managers honored in this resolution; and Chancellor James Moeser on behalf of the University community.

**SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.

S1170 [Filed] Page 3