GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

HOUSE BILL 394

Short Title: District 18 Judicial Personnel Funds. (Public) Sponsors: Representatives Jeffus; Adams, Harrison, and Jones. Referred to: Appropriations Subcommittee on Justice and Public Safety. February 28, 2005 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH THREE NEW DISTRICT COURT JUDGES AND SUPPORTING STAFF IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 18 AND TWO NEW ASSISTANT DISTRICT **ATTORNEYS** IN **PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 18.** The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten: "(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table: District Judges County 1 5 Camden Chowan Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans 2 Martin 4 Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington 3A 5 Pitt 5 3B Craven Pamlico Carteret 8 Sampson 4 Duplin

Jones

Gen	eral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
	-	-	Pender
	6A	2	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
	02	C C	Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	,	,	Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
	0	0	Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
	2	4	
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	0.4	2	Franklin
	9A	2	Person
	0 D	2	Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	15	Wake
	11	8	Harnett
			Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	6	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	4	Orange
			Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
			Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	17A	2	Rockingham
	17B	2 4	Stokes
		I	Surry
	18	12 <u>15</u>	Guilford
	18 19A	4	Cabarrus
	19A 19B	4 6	
	17D	0	Montgomery Moore

Ger	neral Assembly of No	Session 2005	
			Randolph
	19C	4	Rowan
	20	7	Stanly
	-		Union
			Anson
			Richmond
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
		-	Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
	25	т	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	24	-	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
	25	0	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	
			Mecklenburg
	27A	6	Gaston
	27B	4	Cleveland
	20	<i>(</i>	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29	7	Henderson
			McDowell
			Polk
			Rutherford
	20	_	Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain."
			nt the additional district court judge
			ges' successors shall be elected in th
		four-year terms commenci	ing on the first Monday in Decembe
200	6		

44 2006.

General Assembly of North Carolina

1 2 2	"(a1) The cour	DN 3. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten: nties of the State are organized into prosec	
3		nties and the number of full-time assistant	district automeys set form
4	in the following tab	ble:	
5			No. of Full-Time
6	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
7	District	Counties	Attorneys
8	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	10
9		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
10		Perquimans	
11	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	6
12		Tyrrell, Washington	
13	3A	Pitt	9
14	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	10
15	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	14
16		Sampson	
17	5	New Hanover, Pender	14
18	6A	Halifax	4
19	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	4
20		Northampton	
21	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	16
22	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	11
23	9	Franklin, Granville,	11
24		Vance, Warren	
25	9A	Person, Caswell	4
26	10	Wake	31
27	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	14
28	12	Cumberland	18
29	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	11
30	14	Durham	13
31	15A	Alamance	8
32	15B	Orange, Chatham	7
33	16A	Scotland, Hoke	5
34	16B	Robeson	10
35	17A	Rockingham	5
36	17B	Stokes, Surry	5
37	18	Guilford	27 <u>29</u>
38	19A	Cabarrus	6
39	19R	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph	11
40	19D	Rowan	5
40 41	20	Anson, Richmond,	15
42	20	Stanly, Union	15
42 43	21	Forsyth	17
43 44	21 22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	16
44		Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	10

	General Assemb	Session 2005			
1		Iredell			
2	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	5		
3		Yadkin			
4	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	4		
5		Watauga, Yancey			
5	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	15		
7	26	Mecklenburg	36		
	27A	Gaston	12		
	27B	Cleveland,	9		
)		Lincoln			
	28	Buncombe	11		
	29	Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	11		
		Rutherford, Transylvania			
ŀ	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	9		
		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,			
)		Swain."			
,	SECTI	SECTION 4.(a) There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial			
•	A	um of three hundred twenty thousand three hund			
)		he 2005-2006 fiscal year and the sum of two	U I		
)	thousand five hundred twelve dollars (\$289,512) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to				
	establish the three new district court judges authorized by this act.				
		ION 4.(b) There is appropriated from the Generation			
	Department the sum of one hundred twenty-six thousand thirty-six dollars (\$126,036)				
	for the 2005-2006 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred sixteen thousand seven				
	hundred fourteen dollars (\$116,714) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the two				
		rict attorneys authorized by this act.			
		ION 4.(c) There is appropriated from the Generation			
	▲	sum of one hundred sixteen thousand four			
	(\$116,409) for the 2005-2006 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred four thousand				
)	U	eight hundred nine dollars (\$104,809) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish three			
		tions and a judicial assistant position to provide	the necessary staffing		
2	for the new judici	al positions authorized by this act.			

33 **SECTION 5.** This act becomes effective October 1, 2005, or the date upon 34 which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 35 1965, whichever is later.