GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

SESSION LAW 2004-49 SENATE BILL 1159

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE ADVISORY COMMISSION ON MILITARY AFFAIRS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 127C-2 reads as rewritten:

"§ 127C-2. Membership.

(a) The North Carolina Advisory Commission on Military Affairs shall consist of 21 voting members, who shall serve on the Executive Committee, and nine 15 nonvoting, ex officio members who shall serve by reason of their positions.

(b) The Executive Committee shall be appointed as follows:

- (1) Three members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one of whom shall be a member of a recognized veterans' organization.
- (2) Three members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, one of whom shall be a member of a recognized veterans' organization.
- (3) Fifteen members appointed by the Governor, consisting of:
 - a. Three representatives from the Jacksonville community.
 - b. Three representatives from the Havelock community.
 - c. Three representatives from the Goldsboro community.
 - d. Three representatives from the Fayetteville community.
 - e. Three public members from across the State.
- (c) The following members members, or their designee, shall serve ex officio:

(1) The Lieutenant Governor.

- $\overline{\text{(1)}(2)}$ Secretary of Crime Control and Public Safety, or a designee. Safety.
- $\frac{(2)}{(3)}$ Secretary of Commerce, or a designee. Commerce.

(4) The Secretary of Transportation.

- The Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources.
- (3)(6) Commanding General 18th Airborne Corps, Fort Bragg.
- (4)(7) Commanding General Marine Corps Base, Camp Lejeune.
- (5)(8) Commanding General Marine Corps Air Station, Cherry Point.
- $\frac{(6)}{(9)}$ Commander 4th FW, Seymour Johnson Air Force Base.
- $\frac{7}{(10)}$ Commander 43rd Airlift Wing, Pope Air Force Base.
- (8)(11) Commander of the U.S. Coast Guard Support Center, Elizabeth City.
- $\overline{(9)}$ (12) Adjutant General of the North Carolina National Guard.
 - The Executive Director of the North Carolina League of Municipalities.
 - (14) The Executive Director of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners.
 - (15) The Assistant Secretary for Veterans Affairs, Department of Administration.
- (d) The Governor shall designate one member of the Executive Committee appointed pursuant to subsection (b) of this section to serve as chair. The Executive Committee shall elect four persons from amongst its membership to serve as vice-chairs.

- (e) The terms of the members of the Executive Committee shall be as follows:
 - The members initially appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall (1) serve terms ending on December 31, 2003.
 - Seven of the members appointed by the Governor shall serve initial (2) terms ending on December 31, 2002.
 - Eight of the members appointed by the Governor shall serve initial (3) terms ending on December 31, 2003.

Thereafter, all members shall serve two-year terms."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 24th day of June, 2004.

- s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
- s/ Richard T. Morgan Speaker of the House of Representatives
- s/ Michael F. Easley Governor

Approved 12:43 p.m. this 1st day of July, 2004

Session Law 2004-49 Senate Bill 1159 Page 2