## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

## SESSION LAW 2003-55 HOUSE BILL 710

## AN ACT TO ADD A MEMBER REPRESENTING THE OCCANEECHI BAND OF THE SAPONI NATION TO THE BOARD OF THE NORTH CAROLINA INDIAN CULTURAL CENTER.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Subsection (b) of Section 2 of Chapter 41 of the 1997 Session Laws, as amended by S.L. 1998-19 and S.L. 2001-318, reads as rewritten:

"(b) The Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc., shall consist of 17 18 members, appointed as follows:

- (1) One member representing each of the following Indian groups recognized by the State of North Carolina: the Coharie of Sampson and Harnett Counties; the Eastern Band of Cherokees; the Haliwa of Halifax, Warren, and adjoining counties; the Lumbees of Robeson, Hoke, and Scotland Counties; the Meherrin of Hertford County; <u>the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation of Alamance and Orange Counties</u>; the Indians of Person County; and the Waccamaw-Siouan from Columbus and Bladen Counties;
- (2) One member each from the following Indian organizations: the Cumberland County Association for Indian People, the Guilford Native Americans, the Metrolina Native Americans, and the Triangle Native American Society;
- (3) One member representing the education community of the State;
- (4) Two members representing the business community of the State;
- (5) Two members representing the government of the State of North Carolina; and
- (6) One member representing the federal government.

Each member designated in subdivisions (1) and (2) above shall be appointed by the North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs from two prioritized nominations submitted by the group or organization to be represented by that member. Each member designated in subdivisions (3) through (6) above shall be appointed by the North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs from two prioritized nominations submitted by the Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc. If the nominating group or organization submits only one nomination or fails to submit nominations for any reason within 30 days after the date designated for submission by the Commission, the Commission shall appoint a member of its choice to fill the requirement. The Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc., shall appoint a chair from the Board membership.

Members shall serve two-year terms, except that the initial terms of:

(1) The members representing the Coharie of Sampson and Harnett Counties, the Eastern Band of Cherokees, the Indians of Person County; and the Meherrin of Hertford County; the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation of Alamance and Orange Counties; the member representing the Metrolina Native Americans; the member representing the education community of the State; one member representing the government of the State of North Carolina; and one member representing the business community shall be for one year; and

(2) The members representing the Haliwa of Halifax, Warren, and adjoining counties, the Lumbees of Robeson, Hoke, and Scotland Counties, and the Waccamaw-Siouan from Columbus and Bladen Counties; the members representing the Cumberland County Association for Indian People and the Guilford Native Americans; one member representing the business community of the State; one member representing the government of the State of North Carolina; and one member representing the federal government shall be for two years."

**SECTION 2.** In order to provide for appropriate staggering of terms, the term of the member added pursuant to Section 1 of this act to represent the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation of Alamance and Orange Counties shall run concurrently with the terms of the members whose initial terms were for one year.

**SECTION 3.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2003.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 19<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2003.

s/ Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Richard T. Morgan Speaker of the House of Representatives

s/ Michael F. Easley Governor

Approved 5:37 p.m. this 20<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2003