GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1997

H HOUSE BILL 954*

Short Title: Supreme Court Sessions. (Public)

Sponsors: Representative Culpepper.

Referred to: Judiciary II.

April 15, 1997

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO AMEND EXISTING LAW PERTAINING TO SESSIONS OF THE
SUPREME COURT.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

Section 1. G.S. 7A-10(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) The Supreme Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and six associate justices, elected by the qualified voters of the State for terms of eight years. Before entering upon the duties of his office, each justice shall take an oath of office. Four justices shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of the business of the court. Sessions—Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, sessions of the court shall be held in the city of Raleigh, and scheduled by rule of court so as to discharge expeditiously the court's business. The court may by rule hold sessions not more than twice annually in the Old Chowan County Courthouse (1767) in the Town of Edenton, which is a State-owned court facility that is designated as a National Historic Landmark by the United States Department of the Interior."

Section 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.