GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

SENATE BILL 785 Second Edition Engrossed 4/20/93 Appropriations Committee Substitute Adopted 5/24/93 Fourth Edition Engrossed 5/25/93 House Committee Substitute Favorable 7/22/93

Short Title: SETSC Members/Districts.

Sponsors:

Referred to:

April 8, 1993

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO INCREASE THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTH CAROLINA
3	SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION AND
4	TO ESTABLISH TEN DISTRICTS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF
5	COMMISSION MEMBERS.
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
7	Section 1. G.S. 17E-3 reads as rewritten:
8	"§ 17E-3. North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards
9	Commission established; members; terms; vacancies.
10	(a) There is hereby established the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and
11	Training Standards Commission. The Commission shall be composed of 16-19 members
12	as follows:
13	(1) Sheriffs. — Eleven sheriffs <u>Twelve sheriffs appointed by the North</u>
14	Carolina Sheriffs' Association, 10 representing each of the
15	Congressional districts as established and in effect for calendar year
16	1991, appointed by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Association,
17	Commission Districts established in this section, and two appointed at
18	large, in such manner as shall be prescribed by the Constitution or
19	bylaws of such Association.

5

(Public)

S

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	(2) Appointees of the General Assembly. <u>One person Two persons</u>
2	appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to
3	Article 16, G.S. 120-121, and one person appointed by the Lieutenant
4	Governor-President Pro Tempore of the Senate pursuant to Article 16,
5	G.S. 120-121 and one person appointed by the Lieutenant Governor
6	pursuant to Article 16, G.S. 120-121.
7	(3) County Commissioners. – One county commissioner appointed by the
8	Governor as recommended from three nominees from the North
9	Carolina Association of County Commissioners.
10	(4) Others. – The President of the Department of Community Colleges or
11	his designee and the Director of the Institute of Government or his
12	designee shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the Commission.
13	(b) Terms. — Sheriffs representing Congressional Districts 1, 4, 7, and 10 as
14	established and in effect for calendar year 1991, shall be appointed to a term of one
15	year; sheriffs representing Congressional Districts 2, 5, 8, and 11 as established and in
16	effect for calendar year 1991, shall be appointed to a term of two years; sheriffs
17	representing Congressional Districts 3, 6, and 9 as established and in effect for calendar
18	year 1991, shall be appointed to a term of three years. Members shall be appointed for
19	staggered terms. Beginning September 1, 1993, sheriffs representing Commission
20	Districts 1, 4, 7, and 9 shall be appointed to three-year terms; sheriffs representing
21	Commission Districts 2, 5, 8, and 10 shall be appointed to one-year terms; sheriffs
22	representing Commission Districts 3 and 6, and the two at-large sheriffs, shall be
23	appointed to two-year terms. The appointee appointees of the House of Representatives
24	shall serve a term of two years. The appointee appointees of the Senate shall serve a
25	term of two years. The county commissioner appointed by the North Carolina
26	Association of County Commissioners shall serve a term of two years. After the initial
27	terms established herein have expired, all sheriffs appointed to the Commission shall be
28	appointed to terms of three years.
29	If an individual ceases to be a sheriff then his seat on the Commission becomes
30	vacated upon his ceasing to be qualified to hold that seat. Any individual appointed or
31	designated to serve on this Commission shall serve until his successor is appointed and
32	qualified.
33	(c) Vacancies. – If any vacancy occurs in the membership of the Commission,
34	the appointing authority shall appoint another person to fill the unexpired term of the
35	vacating member.
36	(d) Compensation. – None of the members of the Commission shall receive
37	compensation for serving on the Commission. However, if the North Carolina
38	Department of Justice has funds available, then members of the Commission who are
39	State officers or employees may be reimbursed for their expenses in accordance with
40	G.S. 138-6; members of the Commission who are full-time salaried public officers or
41	employees other than State officers or employees may be reimbursed for their expenses
42	in accordance with G.S. 138-5(b). All other members of the Commission may receive
43	compensation and reimbursement for expenses in accordance with G.S. 138-5.
	- · · ·

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	(e) Officers. – The chairman shall be elected from among the membership. The
2	Commission shall select its other officers from among the membership as it deems
3	necessary. All officers serve for one year, or until successors are qualified.
4	(f) Removal. – The Commission may remove a member for misfeasance,
5	malfeasance, nonfeasance or neglect of duty.
6	(g) The Commission has power to adopt its own rules of procedure. The
7	Commission shall meet no less than four times a year. It shall also meet on the call of
8	the chairman or vice-chairman, or any four members of the Commission.
9	(h) The Commission may appoint any resident of the State to an adjunct or
10	special committee created or appointed by it to study or make recommendations or
11	reports on any subject matter related to its duties or the office of sheriff.
12	(i) The State is divided into 10 Commission Districts established for the
13	appointment of members of the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training
14	Standards Commission as follows:
15	District 1: The Counties of Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Gates, Hertford,
16	Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington.
17	District 2: The Counties of Caswell, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax,
18	Nash, Northampton, Person, Vance, and Warren.
19	District 3: The Counties of Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir,
20	Martin, Pamlico, and Pitt.
21	District 4: The Counties of Chatham, Durham, Greene, Harnett, Johnston, Lee,
22	Orange, Wake, Wayne, and Wilson.
23	District 5: The Counties of Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Catawba, Gaston, Lincoln,
24	Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin.
25	District 6: The Counties of Alamance, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell,
26	Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, and Stokes.
27	District 7: The Counties of Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Cumberland,
28	New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson.
29	District 8: The Counties of Anson, Cabarrus, Hoke, Mecklenburg, Montgomery,
30	Moore, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.
31	District 9: The Counties of Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Cleveland, Madison,
32	McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, and Yancey.
33	District 10: The Counties of Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood,
34	Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania."
35	Sec. 2. This act is effective upon ratification.

1993