GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

S 4

SENATE BILL 785

Second Edition Engrossed 4/20/93 Appropriations Committee Substitute Adopted 5/24/93 Fourth Edition Engrossed 5/25/93

Short Title: SETSC Members/Districts. (Public	
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	
	April 8, 1993
	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
	INCREASE THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTH CAROLINA
	EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION AND
	ABLISH TEN DISTRICTS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF
	ON MEMBERS.
	ssembly of North Carolina enacts:
	on 1. G.S. 17E-3 reads as rewritten:
=	North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards
Commission established; members; terms; vacancies.	
(a) There is hereby established the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and	
Training Standa	ards Commission. The Commission shall be composed of 16-18 members
as follows:	
(1)	Sheriffs. — Eleven sheriffs—Twelve sheriffs appointed by the North
	Carolina Sheriffs' Association, 10 representing each of the
	Congressional districts as established and in effect for calendar year
	1991, appointed by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Association,
	Commission Districts established in this section, and two appointed at
	large, in such manner as shall be prescribed by the Constitution or
	bylaws of such Association.
(2)	Appointees of the General Assembly. – One person appointed by the

Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article 16, G.S.

- 120-121, and one person appointed by the Lieutenant Governor
 2 President Pro Tempore of the Senate pursuant to Article 16, G.S. 120121 and one person appointed by the Lieutenant Governor pursuant to
 4 Article 16, G.S. 120-121.
 - (3) County Commissioners. One county commissioner appointed by the Governor as recommended from three nominees from the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners.
 - (4) Others. The President of the Department of Community Colleges or his designee and the Director of the Institute of Government or his designee shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the Commission.
 - Terms. Sheriffs representing Congressional Districts 1, 4, 7, and 10 as established and in effect for calendar year 1991, shall be appointed to a term of one vear; sheriffs representing Congressional Districts 2, 5, 8, and 11 as established and in effect for calendar year 1991, shall be appointed to a term of two years; sheriffs representing Congressional Districts 3, 6, and 9 as established and in effect for calendar year 1991, shall be appointed to a term of three years. Members shall be appointed for staggered terms. Beginning September 1, 1993, sheriffs representing Commission Districts 1, 4, 7, and 9 shall be appointed to three-year terms; sheriffs representing Commission Districts 2, 5, 8, and 10 shall be appointed to one-year terms; sheriffs representing Commission Districts 3 and 6, and the two at-large sheriffs, shall be appointed to two-year terms. The appointee of the House of Representatives shall serve a term of two years. The appointee of the Senate shall serve a term of two years. The county commissioner appointed by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners shall serve a term of two years. After the initial terms established herein have expired, all sheriffs appointed to the Commission shall be appointed to terms of three years.

If an individual ceases to be a sheriff then his seat on the Commission becomes vacated upon his ceasing to be qualified to hold that seat. Any individual appointed or designated to serve on this Commission shall serve until his successor is appointed and qualified.

- (c) Vacancies. If any vacancy occurs in the membership of the Commission, the appointing authority shall appoint another person to fill the unexpired term of the vacating member.
- (d) Compensation. None of the members of the Commission shall receive compensation for serving on the Commission. However, if the North Carolina Department of Justice has funds available, then members of the Commission who are State officers or employees may be reimbursed for their expenses in accordance with G.S. 138-6; members of the Commission who are full-time salaried public officers or employees other than State officers or employees may be reimbursed for their expenses in accordance with G.S. 138-5(b). All other members of the Commission may receive compensation and reimbursement for expenses in accordance with G.S. 138-5.
- (e) Officers. The chairman shall be elected from among the membership. The Commission shall select its other officers from among the membership as it deems necessary. All officers serve for one year, or until successors are qualified.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

2223

24

25

2627

28 29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

3738

39

40

41 42

43

44

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11

- 1 (f) Removal. The Commission may remove a member for misfeasance, 2 malfeasance, nonfeasance or neglect of duty.
 - (g) The Commission has power to adopt its own rules of procedure. The Commission shall meet no less than four times a year. It shall also meet on the call of the chairman or vice-chairman, or any four members of the Commission.
 - (h) The Commission may appoint any resident of the State to an adjunct or special committee created or appointed by it to study or make recommendations or reports on any subject matter related to its duties or the office of sheriff.
 - (i) The State is divided into 10 Commission Districts established for the appointment of members of the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission as follows:
- District 1: The Counties of Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Gates, Hertford,
 Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington.
- District 2: The Counties of Caswell, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax,
 Nash, Northampton, Person, Vance, and Warren.
- District 3: The Counties of Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Pamlico, and Pitt.
- District 4: The Counties of Chatham, Durham, Greene, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Orange, Wake, Wayne, and Wilson.
- District 5: The Counties of Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Catawba, Gaston, Lincoln,
 Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin.
- District 6: The Counties of Alamance, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell,
 Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, and Stokes.
- District 7: The Counties of Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Cumberland,
 New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson.
- District 8: The Counties of Anson, Cabarrus, Hoke, Mecklenburg, Montgomery,
 Moore, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.
- District 9: The Counties of Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Cleveland, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, and Yancey.
- 30 <u>District 10: The Counties of Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood,</u>
 31 Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania."
- Sec. 2. This act is effective upon ratification.