GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1993 SESSION

CHAPTER 158 SENATE BILL 702

AN ACT TO REVISE THE MANNER OF ELECTION OF THE TOWN OF ST. PAULS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 2.2 of the Charter of the Town of St. Pauls, being Chapter 874, Session Laws of 1991, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2.2. **Board of Commissioners; Composition; Terms of Office.** (a) The Board is composed of six Commissioners elected by all the qualified voters of the Town for terms of four years or until their successors are elected and qualified. Three shall be elected in 1993 and quadrennially thereafter, and three shall be elected in 1995 and quadrennially thereafter, two of whom shall be elected by all the qualified voters of the Town, and four of whom shall be elected by districts. The voters of each district shall elect one member.

(b) In 1993, members from Districts 2, 3, and 4 shall be elected for four-year terms. Evans Jackson shall be the member from District 1 from the time of the organizational meeting after the 1993 municipal election until the organizational meeting after the 1997 municipal election. In 1997 and quadrennially thereafter, members from Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4 shall be elected for four-year terms.

(c) In 1995 and quadrennially thereafter, the two at-large members are elected for four-year terms.

<u>The districts for election are as follows, with census geography from the 1990</u> decennial federal census, all being within the corporate limits of the Town of St. Pauls:

District #1: Blocks 218, 347A, 348A, 349, 350, 351, 352, 353, 354A, 355A, 356, 357, 358, 359, 360, 361, 362, 363, 364, 367, 375A, 383, 384, and 385.

District #2: Blocks 213A, 214A, 216, 217, 219, 220, 221A, 222A, 231, 232, 233, 234, 407A, 408A, 409, 410, 411, 412, 413, 406A, and 418A.

District #3: Blocks 365, 366, 368, 369, 370, 371, 372A, 376A, 377A, 378A, 379, 380, 381, 382, 386, 387, 388, 389, 390, 414, 415, 416, 417, 419, 420, 421, 422, 431, 432, 433, and 434.

District #4: Blocks 405A, 423, 424, 425, 426A, 427, 428, 429, 430A, 435, 436, 437, 438, 439, 440, 441, 442, 443, 444, 445, 446A, 446B, 449A, 450, 451, 452, 453, and 454."

Sec. 2. Section 2.3 of the Charter of the Town of St. Pauls, being Chapter 874, Session Laws of 1991, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2.3. **Mayor; Term of Office; Duties.** The Mayor is elected in 1993 for a two-year term and in 1995 and quadrennially thereafter by all the qualified voters of the Town for a term of four years and until a successor is elected and qualified."

Sec. 3. If this act is not approved under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 prior to the opening of candidate filing in 1993 under G.S. 163-294.2(c), the 1993 regular municipal election in the Town of St. Pauls is postponed to a date to be set by the Robeson County Board of Elections. The filing and other timetables for that postponed election shall be established by the Robeson County Board of Elections.

Sec. 4. Except as provided by Section 1 of this act for the term of Evans Jackson, and except as may occur because of Section 3 of this act, this act does not affect the term of office of any incumbent member of the board of commissioners or the mayor.

Sec. 5. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 15th day of June, 1993.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives