GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1991 SESSION

CHAPTER 759 HOUSE BILL 748

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OR THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives or the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and

Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate have made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. APPOINTMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

- Section 1. Thomas E. Terrell, Jr. of Guilford County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 2. Betty B. Adams of Wake County and Ivie Clayton of Wake County are appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Museum of Art, each for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 3. Mark Donaldson of Chatham County is appointed to the Crime Victims Compensation Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 4. Dr. Jack Levy of New Hanover County and Catherine Cameron of Chatham County are appointed to the North Carolina Hazardous Waste Management Commission, each for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 5. Lynn R. McCaskill of Richmond County and Carolyn Allen of Guilford County are appointed to the North Carolina Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority, each for a term to expire on June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 6. Dr. William T. Fletcher of Durham County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Science and Technology for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 7. Bo Rader of Lee County is appointed to the North Carolina Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Funds Council for a term to expire on June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for an owner or operator of a convenience store that markets petroleum products.
- Sec. 7.1. Louis Brandon of Guilford County is appointed to the Governor's Waste Management Board for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 7.2. Representative Ronald Smith of Carteret County and Representative Judy Hunt of Watauga County are appointed to the North Carolina

Travel and Tourism Board, each for a term to expire on December 31, 1992. Victoria Sutton of Gaston County is appointed to the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board for a term to expire on December 31, 1992. This is the categorical appointment for a person associated with tourism attractions in North Carolina.

- Sec. 7.3. Section 18 of Chapter 714 of the 1991 Session Laws is amended by deleting the word "Rowan" and substituting the word "Davidson".
- Sec. 7.4. Section 20 of Chapter 714 of the 1991 Session Laws is amended by deleting the phrase "C." and substituting the phrase "G.".

PART II. APPOINTMENTS OF PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE

- Sec. 8. Henry Faircloth of Sampson County is appointed to the Real Estate Appraisal Board for a term to expire on June 30, 1994.
- Sec. 9. Dorothy Kilpatrick of Henderson County is appointed to the North Carolina Hazardous Waste Management Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 10. Caroline C. Parker of Wayne County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Solid Waste Management Capital Projects Financing Agency for a term to expire on June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 11. Don Ward of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Funds Council for a term to expire June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of an organization of petroleum marketers. Angela Waldorf of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Funds Council for a term to expire on June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of an organization of refining companies. Thomas C. Mehder of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Funds Council for a term to expire on June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of the environmental insurance industry. James Fain of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Funds Council for a term to expire on June 30, 1993, as the categorical appointment of a representative of the commercial lending institution industry.
- Sec. 12. Judy Seamon of Carteret County is appointed to the North Carolina Center for Nursing Board of Directors for a term to expire on June 30, 1994. This is the categorical appointment for a nurse. Terry Rose of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Center for Nursing Board of Directors for a term to expire on June 30, 1994. Betty Woodard of Guilford County is appointed to the North Carolina Center for Nursing Board of Directors for a term to expire on June 30, 1993. Lee Pridgen of Sampson County is appointed to the North Carolina Center for Nursing Board of Directors for a term to expire on June 30, 1992. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of the hospital industry.
- Sec. 13. William Jordan Williamson, Jr., of Watauga County is appointed to the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board for a term to expire on December 31, 1992. This is the categorical appointment for a public member interested in matters relating to travel and tourism. Ralph Peters of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board for a term to expire on December 31, 1992.

This is the categorical appointment for a public member associated with the tourism-related transportation industry. Senator Beverly Perdue of Craven County and Senator Howard Lee of Orange County are appointed to the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board for terms to expire on December 31, 1992.

Sec. 14. Unless otherwise provided, appointments made by this act shall commence upon ratification.

Sec. 15. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 16th day of July, 1991.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives