### **GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA**

#### **SESSION 1989**

Η

HOUSE BILL 2323

Short Title: Divide Eighth Prosecutorial District.

(Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Lilley; and Jones.

Referred to: Judiciary.

June 6, 1990

# A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

| 1  | A BILL TO BE ENTITLED   |  |  |  |
|----|---|--|--|--|
| 2  | AN ACT TO DIVIDE THE EIGHTH PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT.                                 |  |  |  |
| 3  | The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:                                      |  |  |  |
| 4  | Section 1. Effective January 1, 1991, G.S. 7A-60 reads as rewritten:                |  |  |  |
| 5  | "§ 7A-60. District attorneys and prosecutorial districts.                           |  |  |  |
| 6  | (a) The State shall be divided into prosecutorial districts, as shown in subsection |  |  |  |
| 7  |   |  |  |  |
| 8  | 1 () ()   |  |  |  |
| 9  | I J J   |  |  |  |
| 10 | 1 ,   |  |  |  |
| 11 |   |  |  |  |
| 12 | 5   |  |  |  |
| 13 | in the following table:   |  |  |  |
| 14 | No. of Full-Time  |  |  |  |
| 15 | Judicial Asst. District   |  |  |  |
| 16 | District Counties Attorneys   |  |  |  |
| 17 | 1 Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 6  |  |  |  |
| 18 | Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,  |  |  |  |
| 19 | Perquimans  |  |  |  |
| 20 | 2 Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,4  |  |  |  |
| 21 | Tyrrell, Washington   |  |  |  |
| 22 | 3A Pitt 5   |  |  |  |
| 23 | 3B Carteret, Craven, Pamlico 5  |  |  |  |
| 24 | 4 Duplin, Jones, Onslow, 9  |  |  |  |

## 1

# GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

| 1  |            | Sampson                         |
|----|------------|---------------------------------|
| 2  | 5          | New Hanover, Pender 8           |
| 3  | 6A         | Halifax 2                       |
| 4  | 6B         | Bertie, Hertford, Northampton 2 |
| 5  | 7          | Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson 8       |
| 6  | <u>8</u>   | Greene, Lenoir, Wayne 8         |
| 7  | <u>8A</u>  | Greene, Lenoir 2                |
| 8  | <b>8</b> B | Wayne 6                         |
| 9  | 9          | Franklin, Granville, 7          |
| 10 |            | Person, Vance, Warren           |
| 11 | 10         | Wake 16                         |
| 12 | 11         | Harnett, Johnston, Lee 7        |
| 13 | 12         | Cumberland 11                   |
| 14 | 13         | Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus 6   |
| 15 | 14         | Durham 9                        |
| 16 | 15A        | Alamance4                       |
| 17 | 15B        | Orange, Chatham 4               |
| 18 | 16A        | Scotland, Hoke 2                |
| 19 | 16B        | Robeson 7                       |
| 20 | 17A        | Caswell, 4                      |
| 21 |            | Rockingham                      |
| 22 | 17B        | Stokes, Surry 4                 |
| 23 | 18         | Guilford 15                     |
| 24 | 19A        | Cabarrus, Rowan 6               |
| 25 | 19B        | Montgomery, Randolph4           |
| 26 | 20         | Anson, Moore, Richmond, 9       |
| 27 |            | Stanly, Union                   |
| 28 | 21         | Forsyth 11                      |
| 29 | 22         | Alexander, Davidson, Davie, 8   |
| 30 |            | Iredell                         |
| 31 | 23         | Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, 4      |
| 32 |            | Yadkin                          |
| 33 | 24         | Avery, Madison, Mitchell, 3     |
| 34 |            | Watauga, Yancey                 |
| 35 | 25         | Burke, Caldwell, Catawba 9      |
| 36 | 26         | Mecklenburg 20                  |
| 37 | 27A        | Gaston 7                        |
| 38 | 27B        | Cleveland, 5                    |
| 39 | • •        | Lincoln                         |
| 40 | 28         | Buncombe 6                      |
| 41 | 29         | Henderson, McDowell, Polk, 6    |
| 42 | 20         | Rutherford, Transylvania        |
| 43 | 30         | Cherokee, Clay, Graham, 6       |
| 44 |            | Haywood, Jackson, Macon,        |

1989

1

Swain.

2 (b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, each district attorney for 3 a prosecutorial district as defined in subsection (a1) of this section, other than District 4 19B, who is in office on December 31, 1988, shall continue in office for that 5 prosecutorial district, for a term expiring December 31, 1990. In the general election of 6 1990, and every four years thereafter, a district attorney shall be elected for a four-year 7 term for each prosecutorial district other than Districts 16A and 19B, and shall take office on the January 1 following such election. The district attorney for Prosecutorial 8 9 District 19B, who is elected in the general election of 1988 for a four-year term 10 beginning January 1, 1989, shall serve that term for Prosecutorial District 19B. In the general election of 1992, and every four years thereafter, a district attorney shall be 11 12 elected for a four-year term for Prosecutorial Districts 16A and 19B and shall take 13 office on the January 1 following such election.

14 (c)The office and term of the district attorney for Prosecutorial District 12 15 formerly consisting of Cumberland and Hoke Counties are allocated to Prosecutorial 16 District 12 as defined by subsection (a1) of this section. The office and the term of the 17 district attorney for former Prosecutorial District 16 consisting of Robeson and Scotland 18 Counties are allocated to Prosecutorial District 16B as defined by subsection (a1) of this 19 section. The initial district attorney for Prosecutorial District 16A as defined in 20 subsection (a1) of this section shall be elected in the general election of November 21 1988, from nominations made in accordance with G.S. 163-114 as if a vacancy had 22 occurred in nomination, and shall serve an initial term expiring December 31, 1992. 23 Effective January 1, 1991, the office and the term of the district attorney for former 24 Prosecutorial District 8 are allocated to Prosecutorial District 8B as defined by subsection (a1) of this section. The initial district attorney for Prosecutorial District 8A 25 as defined in subsection (a1) of this section shall be elected in the general election of 26 27 November 1990, from nominations made in accordance with G.S. 163-114 as if a vacancy had occurred in nomination, and shall serve an initial term beginning January 28 29 1, 1991, and expiring December 31, 1994. In all other respects, subsection (b) of this 30 section shall apply to the district attorneys for Prosecutorial Districts 12, 16A, and 16B 31 to the same extent as all other district attorneys." Sec. 2. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Administrative 32

33 Office of the Courts for fiscal year 1990-91 the sum of \$95,057 to implement this act.

Sec. 3. Section 1 of this act shall become effective January 1, 1991, except that the revision of G.S. 7A-60(c) is effective upon ratification. Section 2 of this act shall become effective July 1, 1990.