Article 32.

Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission.

§ 58-32-1. Commission created; membership.

There is hereby created within the Department a Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission. The Commission shall consist of 11 members who shall be appointed as follows: the Commissioner shall appoint six members as follows: two members who are members of the insurance industry who may be chosen from a list of six nominees submitted to the Commissioner by the Independent Insurance Agents of North Carolina, Inc.; one member who is employed by a police department who may be chosen from a list of three nominees submitted to the Commissioner jointly by the North Carolina Police Chiefs Association and North Carolina Police Executives Association, and one member who is employed by a sheriff's office who may be chosen from a list of three nominees submitted to the Commissioner by the North Carolina Sheriff's Association; one member representing city government who may be chosen from a list of three nominees submitted to the Commissioner by the North Carolina League of Municipalities; and one member representing county government who may be chosen from a list of three nominees submitted to the Commissioner by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners; and the General Assembly shall appoint two persons, one upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and one upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. The Commissioner or the Commissioner's designate shall be an ex officio member. Appointments by the General Assembly shall be made in accordance with G.S. 120-121, and vacancies in those appointments shall be filled in accordance with G.S. 120-122. The terms of the initial appointees by the General Assembly shall expire on June 30, 1983. The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety or the Secretary's designate shall be an ex officio member. The Attorney General or the Attorney General's designate shall be an ex officio member. One insurance industry member appointed by the Commissioner shall be appointed to a term of two years and one insurance industry member shall be appointed to a term of four years. The police department member shall be appointed to a term of two years and the sheriff's office member shall be appointed to a term of four years. The representative of county government shall be appointed to a term of two years and the representative of city government to a term of four years. Beginning July 1, 1983, the appointment made by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker shall be for two years, and the appointment made by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall be for four years. Except as provided in this section, if any vacancy occurs in the membership of the Commission, the appointing authority shall appoint another person to fill the unexpired term of the vacating member. After the initial terms established herein have expired, all appointees to the Commission shall be appointed to terms of four years.

The Commission members shall elect the chair and vice-chair of the Commission. The Commission may, by majority vote, remove any member of the Commission for chronic absenteeism, misfeasance, malfeasance or other good cause. (1979, c. 325, s. 1; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1191, ss. 24-26; 1983, c. 543, ss. 1, 2; 1985, c. 666, ss. 76, 77, 79; 1991, c. 720, s. 4; 1995, c. 490, s. 41; 1999-132, s. 6.1; 2011-145, s. 19.1(g); 2021-182, s. 3(f).)

G.S. 58-32-1 Page 1