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§ 105‑449.115A. Shipping document required to transport fuel by tank wagon.
(a) Issuance. – A person who operates a tank wagon into which motor fuel is loaded at the

terminal must comply with the document requirements in G.S. 105‑449.115(b). A person who
operates a tank wagon into which motor fuel is loaded from some other source must have an
invoice, bill of sale, or shipping document containing the following information and any other
information required by the Secretary:

(1) The name and address of the person from whom the motor fuel was received.
(2) The date the fuel was loaded.
(3) The type of fuel.
(4) The gross number of gallons loaded.
(5) The destination state of the fuel.

(b) Duties of Transporter. – A person to whom an invoice, bill of sale, or shipping
document was issued must do all of the following:

(1) Carry the invoice, bill of sale, or shipping document in the conveyance for
which it is issued when transporting the motor fuel described in it.

(2) Show the invoice, bill of sale, or shipping document upon request when
transporting the motor fuel described in it.

(3) Maintain a copy of the invoice, bill of sale, or shipping document at a
centralized place of business for at least three years from the date of delivery.

(4) Deliver motor fuel described in the shipping document to the state designated
on it unless the person, in a manner prescribed by the Secretary, does all of the
following:
a. Notifies the Secretary before transporting the motor fuel into a state

other than the state designated on the shipping document.
b. Receives from the Secretary a confirmation number authorizing the

shipment of motor fuel to a state other than the state designated on the
shipping document.

c. Contemporaneously notes on the shipping document the change in
destination state and the confirmation number received from the
Secretary.

(5) Upon delivery, provide a copy of the shipping document to the person to
whom the motor fuel is delivered.

(b1) Duties of Person Receiving Shipment. – A person to whom motor fuel is delivered by
tank wagon may only accept delivery of the motor fuel if the destination state shown on the
shipping document for the motor fuel is North Carolina or has been changed to North Carolina in
accordance with subdivision (4) of subsection (b) of this section. The person must maintain a
copy of the shipping document for at least three years from the date of delivery and must maintain
a copy of the shipping document at the place of business where the motor fuel was delivered for
90 days from the date of delivery. A person who accepts delivery of motor fuel in violation of this
subsection is jointly and severally liable for any tax due on the fuel.

(c) Sanctions. – Transporting motor fuel in a tank wagon without an invoice, bill of sale,
or shipping document containing the information required by this section is grounds for a civil
penalty. The penalty is payable to the agency that assessed the penalty and is payable by the
person in whose name the tank wagon is registered. The amount of the penalty is one thousand
dollars ($1,000). A penalty imposed under this subsection is in addition to any motor fuel tax
assessed. (2002‑108, s. 16; 2005‑435, s. 17; 2007‑527, s. 16(c); 2019‑169, s. 4.13; 2021‑180, s.
42.13E(m).)


